top of page

Christmas House Tour - 2018

Updated: Oct 22, 2019



Welcome to our Christmas House Tour and so happy you came to visit.


Christmas is one of my favorite holidays to decorate and I look forward to it every year. I love creating different looks every Christmas and this year it was about adding green ribbon in the living room and plaid accents all around the rest of the home. I did add a cream and black ribbon to the tree here to tie the two styles together. Look here for a similar one that will work.

I decided this year to add a special tree topper to our tree and this mini chandelier was calling my name once I saw it at a flea market. It was a bit tricky to attach it to the tree but eventually my hubby and I figured it out.... Let's just say that many zip ties were used. The trick was to use an old metal curtain rod I had and attached the chandelier to the top of it and then attached the rod to the trunk of the tree. I was so happy when it worked out!




Extra Branches


I added extra branches to our Christmas tree to give it a more natural look and to make it look fuller as well. I purchased these flocked branches from Michael's a few years back. The red berries I found here but you can find them at Michael's during the holidays too.


I love mercury glass and I collect a few every year, usually from Home Goods, they seem to work well with any decor I decide to do on the tree.








Tablescape


I created two different tablescapes this Christmas....to see the other tablescape click here.

Instead of napkins, I used dishtowels here...I just couldn't' pass up the pom poms on some of them. Aren't they fun? Here are some similar ones that would work beautifully too.

And candles always add to a more special table setting so I usually add them as well.






Kitchen Nook


Our kitchen nook also received a touch of Christmas. I repeated the garland pattern from the living room and added the green ribbon here too.


Adding Xmas pillows to our bench for some coziness and some red tulips on the table never disappoint... just by adding some Christmas greenery to the arrangement makes it perfect!





Our family room was decorated with black and white plaid touches throughout and black and white ribbon. I kept the stockings simple this year since I felt I had too much pattern going on already so I used my cream ones for simplicity. Some are from Home Goods and some from here.




The Nativity


Our Nativity was purchased from Hobby Lobby a few years back and I absolutely love it. The twinkling lights at night make it so much more special. The frame next to it says "My grace is sufficient for thee" and it is the gift that we all receive at Christmas... His Grace.














Last but not least, our bedroom received a Christmas touch as well.




I usually do not decorate our bedroom for Christmas but this year I had the time to do it early, so here it is. I used an old #ChristmasTree we had that I purchased at Target after the holidays for just $20 and it adds just the perfect touch, I think. No decorations on it, just twinkling lights. I continued the garland motif here as in the living room but I used a different ribbon for cohesiveness in the room. I purchased this red plaid twin duvet cover from IKEA and a twin inexpensive comforter from here and folded it in half and added to the foot of the bed for some color and coziness.


I hope you enjoyed our Christmas tour and thank you for stopping by.


Have a blessed Christmas with all your loved ones,


Alicia





 

I purchase and feature products that can be found on Amazon and therefore I joined their Amazon Affiliate program. This means a get a small commission if you purchase items that are linked to my website. In no way you get charged extra for any of the items mentioned.

bottom of page