top of page

My French Inspired Christmas Tree

Creating this French inspired tree was fun this year. I always like to use unexpected items in my tree and this year was no different.

French Christmas tree

But first, let me mentioned my tree. It is a Queen Flocked tree from King of Christmas and I have had this tree for a few years now and I’m very pleased with it. It has full foliage and the branches look natural and perfectly flocked. If you are ever in the lookout for a flocked one, this is a good one and I promise you that you won’t be disappointed. You can either get it with lights or no lights. Mine is with no lights.


Now for the unexpected item that I used on my tree, it is an outdoor planter as my tree base.

Planter as Christmas tree base

I had this planter outside in my backyard and I had purchased it a few years back from Home Goods. I cleaned it up really good and painted it white since it was black before. I knew the French look of this planter would work with my French indoor decor. Here’s a source for you in case you want this similar look for your tree base.


To decorate the tree, I used 3 different color ribbons. One blue checkered , one tan checkered and black and cream thinner ribbon. The combination of these tree ribbons made it look more French to me. I believe it is all about the layering of all these ribbons combined that works for me.


Another unexpected item I use, it is the white dusters as my snow. I removed the handle of these and use the rest of it as my tree snow.


Christmas tree with ribbon

The gold star topper was purchased from Hobby Lobby but if you can’t find it there, here’s the closest source I found.

I also added the blue berries too to match my blue decor in my dinning room with my recently reupholstered settee.

Blue toile reupholstered settee

(Go here if you want to know how I reupholstered this settee)


Christmas dinning room decor

Using all of the items I mentioned above is how I created this French inspired Christmas tree decor.


French Inspired Gold Christmas Tree

So if you ever want to create this similar French Christmas Tree look, I got you covered.


I hope you get inspired to create either the same look or something similar. And if you do, please let me know, I would love to take a look at your creation.


Thank you for stopping by,


Alicia









bottom of page