top of page

Fall Spiced Caramel Cake

Creating an elegant cake can be done using these easy tips.



I love creating easy desserts that do not take too much time and are delicious. This cake can also be done when you are short on time and need a quick and elegant dessert.


My tips here are to use ingredients that make it easy for you, in other words, purchase the items that can be purchased already made like the caramel, the frosting and the pie dough. All you would need to do is make the cake, from a box I may add, and save yourself so much time.



If you can’t find the ”Dulce de Leche” in you grocery store, you can find it here or here.


Fall Naked cake with leaves cutouts


Fall Cake on a cake stand with leaves cutouts

Make the cake as instructed on the box. I added pecans, 1/2 cup, to my cake mix after it had been mixed. I used two of these 8 inch cake pans to create a two layer cake. I oiled and lined each cake pan with parchment paper. Once baked, remove the cakes from the pan after letting them cool 10 minutes and let them cool completely on a cooling rack.

After cooling, I removed, with a knife, the top bump of one of the cakes, this will be your bottom cake. I like to put my cakes in the refrigerator for about one hour or overnight wrapped in clear plastic wrap. It makes the spreading of the frosting easier this way.

When you are ready to assemble the cakes, remove the plastic wrap and place the cut cake on your cake stand first. Spread the “Dulce de Leche” on the cake. I like to place parchment paper around the cake to prevent the caramel or ”Dulce de Leche” from getting all over and also from getting the frosting on the cake stand when I frost it.


Dulce de Leche or caramel on a cake

Place the next cake on top of the “Dulce de Leche” and now you are ready to frost the cake.

A great tip here is to beat the purchased frosting with your hang held mixer. The frosting becomes softer and fluffier and easy to spread this way. I frosted my cake as a naked cake using a spreader.


Now for the decoration. I used these pie crust cutters and cut out the purchased pie dough. Flour the cutters each time you press onto the dough, otherwise they can get stuck in the cutters.


Pie crust leaves cutouts

To create different dimensions of the cutout leaves, I use small cuts of aluminum foil to raise the leaves in different directions.


leaves cutouts on a jelly roll pan

Brush the leaves cutouts with a beaten water and egg mixture. Sprinkle turbinado sugar on them, not packed brown sugar but raw sugar. Bake these about 10-12 minutes and keep an eye on them so they don’t burn. Use the oven temperature listed on the pie dough box. I like using this jelly roll pan since it is nonstick and it is easy to remove the leaves once cooked.


Let the leaves cool to room temperature before placing them on the cake.


Now decorate your cake as you desire using these dimensional leaves. The possibilities are endless.

Fall Cake with leaves on a cake stand


Go and create this cake using the fast and easy tips I mentioned above and enjoy a slice or two.


Thank you for stopping by,


Alicia




bottom of page