top of page

Incorporating "Blue Color" on a Fall Tablescape

Updated: Nov 23, 2019

Create an unexpected tablescape with colors you might use for the spring.



French Country Fall Tablescape

I have always thought that I needed to use Fall colors for a fall tablescape but this year I wanted to incorporate some blue color to it. I have always loved these blue toile plates so I decided to play with them and make it work.

Blue toile plates on a French Country Cottage Fall Tablescape

Now you may think that the color blue does not work here, but if you notice the placemat used underneath has a natural color that brings the table setting colors back to the centerpiece to make it cohesive. Also the use of a linen tablecloth brings the natural elements together.


I added the napkins and created the relaxed feel by grabbing the center of the napkin and letting it lay on the plate as to not make the tablescape so formal.


French Country Fall Tablescape


The centerpiece I created started with a basket. And I have to admit that I tried two other baskets before selecting this one. This one gave me the texture, size and color I was looking for; so don’t be afraid to try different ones until you like what you see.

French Country Fall Tablescape Dinning Room

French Fall Tablescape


I found this basket at the flea market and I seem to always gravitate towards baskets when I’m shopping there...I do collect quite a bit of them. And I give some away when I can’t seem to find where to store them and when my husband gives me the look... you know that look that says, "you have too many of them". And for the record, one can’t ever have too many baskets in my book. Here are some I found on line that have great texture in case you don't seem to find one.




To create the centerpiece, I added these faux eucalyptus that I purchased at Hobby Lobby and then I added the logs and faux pumpkins and florals that I had from previous years. The mustard color Pom Poms florals added a bit of color that worked great with the blue place setting.

Now notice that I placed pumpkins and greenery outside the center basket and added a lantern on one side. I did this to visually extend the centerpiece and to create a more cozy feel. If you like more symmetry, you can also add another lantern to the other side of the centerpiece, but I like a more whimsy sort of look.


French Country Fall Centerpiece

The addition of these battery operated lights made the table cozy especially at night when they were turned on. And they are on a timer so they go on and off as you select.


The lantern also has a battery operated candle inside to continue this cozy atmosphere.

This particular lantern was found at Home Goods but here is a great alternative.


French Country Fall Tablescape

Also, I added a blue throw to the bench to bring the blue color all around and to also bring more texture to the table.

French Country Fall Tablescape


French Country Fall Tablescape


I hope I have inspired you to create a fall tablescape with unexpected colors.


Have a wonderful fall season.


Alicia




I purchase and feature products that can be found on Amazon and therefore I joined their Amazon Affiliate program. This means a get a small commission if you purchase items that are linked to my website. In no way you get charged extra for any of the items mentioned.

bottom of page