top of page

French DIY Mirror

Updated: Oct 22, 2019

Creating a French look can be as easy as 1..2..3 with these great tips from Jamie's book "French Vintage Decor". I love all her great ideas so I decided to tackle one of the DIY's she mentions in her book.


Gold Mirror DIY

I found this simple mirror at Goodwill for only $5.00 and I knew it had to come home with me and create a French Mirror with the following tips. I did have to do a few touch ups on the gold frame but craft paint works great for touch ups.


The next thing was to find some wood appliques. Many choices to choose from but here are some corners I loved and also some french accents here. But you can choose what speaks to you.




I painted the appliques with some gold paint....I used several different colors like this one and this one and I also used a little dark glaze that I already had to make it more antique looking. Another tip here is to use burnt amber instead of the dark glaze for the antiquing part and it works great too.


Now play with the placement of the appliques on your mirror until you are satisfied where they are to stay. Then glue them to the mirror. I used this glue as pictured below.


E6000 Glue

I let the glue dry for 24 hours and then the mirror was ready for its debut.


French Country Gold Mirror DIY

What do you think?.... easy enough right?.... I love easy DIY's.

French Country Entry Way

I have to thank Jamie for her inspiration and her book. It's definitely a must have if you love decorating on a budget. Go and get a copy, you won't regret it. Get it here.


Thank you for visiting. And I hope it has inspired you.


Alicia





I purchase and feature products that can be found on Amazon and therefore I joined their Amazon Affiliate program. This means a get a small commission if you purchase items that are linked to my website. In no way you get charged extra for any of the items mentioned.

bottom of page